الصفحة الرئيسية » كالجاري

كالجاري

Photo ©Carolyn B. Heller

إذا كنت تتجول في وسط أبراج الزجاج والصلب التي تسيطر على وسط المدينة كالجاري, ألبرتا, سترى على الأرجح بعض الأسماء المألوفة - على الأقل إذا كنت على دراية كبرى شركات النفط العالمية. شركات مثل شل, ذلك, بي بي, الامبراطوري النفط, and Petro-​​Canada all have a sig­nif­i­cant pres­ence in Calgary, و المعتمدة على الطاقة بوسي-nesses account for a con­sid­er­able per­cent­age of Calgary’s jobs.

ما وراء نهر السند، حاول النفط, Calgary has a devel­op­ing high-​​technology sec­tor, تقرير: جي في أكبر عدد من التكنولوجيا المبتدئة نصيب الفرد في كندا. بناء كالجاري والعقارات وازدهار, and the region is a Western trans­porta­tion hub. كالجاري حافة من بين البراري-المحلى-نشوئها يعني أنه منذ فترة طويلة الشركات الزراعية القائمة هنا, في حين أن قرب دون والجبال مجموعة تينغ has made it a start­ing point for روكيز السياحة.

لماذا حدد-TLE في كالجاري? A clerk in a down­town outdoor-​​gear store put it this way: من الاثنين حتى الجمعة, كالجاري يعمل بجد. لكن بحلول يوم الجمعة بعد الظهر, انها حان الوقت للعب.

وعما إذا كان ذلك ينطوي على اللعب متوجهة الى الجبال لممارسة رياضة التزلج, الثلوج مجلس, الدراجة, أو ارتفاع, أو البقاء في المدينة لهرول في الحديقة أو تلبية الزملاء الخاص للمشروبات, كالجاري يلعب الثابت. من المطاعم الورك ومقاهي الرصيف إلى مسارات النهر مملوءة المتزلجين وراكبي الدراجات, كالجاري خسارتك-عدوليس مع الطاقةوأنها لا تأتي كل من الأرض.

-- مقتطف من كتاب, الذين يعيشون في الخارج في كندا. لقراءة المزيد, شراء الكتاب.

الصور © كارولين باء. شخص مزعج

Home » Calgary

Calgary

Photo ©Carolyn B. Heller

If you wan­der amidst the glass-and-steel tow­ers that dom­i­nate down­town Calgary, Alberta, you’ll like­ly see some famil­iar names – at least if you’re famil­iar with major inter­na­tion­al oil com­pa­nies. Companies like Shell, Esso, BP, Imperial Oil, and Petro-Canada all have a sig­nif­i­cant pres­ence in Calgary, and ener­gy-based busi­ness­es account for a con­sid­er­able per­cent­age of Calgary’s jobs.

Beyond the oil indus­try, Calgary has a devel­op­ing high-tech­nol­o­gy sec­tor, report­ing the largest num­ber of tech­nol­o­gy start-ups per capi­ta in Canada. Calgary’s con­struc­tion and real estate indus­tries are boom­ing, and the region is a Western trans­porta­tion hub. Calgary’s edge-of-the-prairies loca­tion means that agri­cul­tur­al busi­ness­es have long been based here, while its near-the-moun­tains set­ting has made it a start­ing point for Rockies tourism.

Why set­tle in Calgary? A clerk in a down­town out­door-gear store put it this way: From Monday through Friday, Calgary works hard. But by Friday after­noon, it’s time to play.

And whether that play involves head­ing for the moun­tains to ski, snow­board, bike, or hike, or stay­ing in the city to jog in the park or meet your pals for drinks, Calgary plays hard. From hip eater­ies and side­walk cafes to river­front paths filled with skaters and cyclists, Calgary bris­tles with ener­gy–and it doesn’t all come out of the ground.

– Excerpted from the book, Living Abroad in Canada. To read more, buy the book.

Photo ©Carolyn B. Heller