الصفحة الرئيسية » قصة كندا بلدي

قصة كندا بلدي

Photo ©Alan Albert

يبدو أنك الاسرة-IAR, حتى الآن بطريقة ما غريب - هل أنت من قبل أي فرصة الكندي?

هذا نيويوركر سيارة تون شرح تلخص علاقة الكثير من الاميركيين مع كندا. ونحن نعلم أننا قد مثل كندا عرضا نعرف أي المجاور. نحن كور للاتصال, ويقول "مرحبا,"ونمضي في أعمالنا الخاصة.

متأكد, معظم الأميركيين يعرفون شيئا عن جارنا الشمالي. لقد تفحص نحن وجها لخطوط حول UNI-VER-SAL الرعاية الصحية, من نفس الجنس مارس riage, و هوكي الهوس. شاهدنا بو إرشادية من majes تيك مون بأنواعها المختلفة, هادئ خيران, سحب إيه جي أي وقت مضى، والخضر, واسعة تمتد من قوس عرة وايلدر، نيس. قد نقرأ سور veys استدعاء جي فانكوفر أفضل مدينة في العالم للعيش, COM-قدم المساواة، جي شيك مونتريال الى باريس, و رتبة-ING تورونتو بين المدن على كوكب الأرض معظم الثقافات. نحن الاسرة-IAR مع كندا, ولكن نحن قد لا نعرف حقا جيراننا الكندية - حتى حدث شيء ما الذي يجعلنا تنتبه.

لإيلي-FAM بلدي, كان ذلك عرض وظيفة.

وبعد انتقالنا غير المتوقعة عبر الحدود, كما أنا وعائلتي بدأت معرفة كيفية إدارة عملية الانتقال إلى بيتنا الكندي الجديد, نحن بسرعة ديس، COV-الدو أن عبر جي في بور، في دير فاكا-نشوئها، بعض الشيء، لكنا فعلت مرات عديدة،لم يكن نفس الذين يعيشون ويعملون في بلد آخر.

لأن كندا هي بلد مختلف. بالطبع, هذا يبدو سخيفا; كنا نعرف أننا الانتقال إلى أمة جديدة مع حكومتها الخاصة, المال, والقوانين. بعد، لأن شعرت كندا مريحة جدا - على غرار ذلك إلى الولايات المتحدة - فوجئنا في كيفية العديد من الأشياء التي كنا بحاجة لفرز.

و لكل MITS نحن في حاجة لبدء العمل جى. و DOC-U-الإدلاء بالبيانات نحن في حاجة إلى تحرك سيارتنا. كيفية اتخاذ الترتيبات اللازمة لتغطية هذه الخسائر. الصحة تعصب و إقرارات ضريبية لدينا. خلافا للعديد من الخارج وجها لجي immi المنح, لم نكن بحاجة إلى تعلم لغة جديدة أو التكيف مع العادات الغريبة. ونحن ذاهبون إلى الباب، اشعر محاولة الحق القادم. حتى الآن لا يزال هناك الكثير من التحديات.

بعد فرز نحن خارج ورقة العمل, على الرغم, بدأنا في محاولة لضبط-اشعر دينا اعتمدت. علمنا في وقت قريب لاحتضان كندا مول-TI-طريق غير taly جمالي, SAM-pling الأطعمة الجديدة, انضمام-ING في فاس المحلية، TI-فال, والتعرف على والعمالة الوافدة من مختلف أنحاء العالم. جئنا إلى appre-CI-يتناولون أحدث, في الهواء الطلق المنحى طريق مسدود، تلح, حيث PEO-التنوير القائل يخصصون وقتا للذهاب التزلج جي, ركوب دراجاتهم, أو المشي على طول جبهة المياه. وبدأنا في إبطاء مواقفنا hurry- تصل إلى أكثر مسترخي سرعة الكندية.

مع مرور الوقت, لقد اكتشفنا أيضا اختلافات أخرى كثيرة بين الثقافة الكندية والأميركية. لقد أصبح لدينا والتعرف على Timbits. تعلمت ما لمس والسبب في حاجة الاطفال منهم لشركة نفط الجنوب، CER. برزت لماذا هناك الحول-I-يوم على ملكة انكلترا الولادة يوما.

إذا كنت explor-ING هذا الموقع على شبكة الانترنت, قد يكون التفكير في الانتقال إلى كندا أو قد يكون بالفعل هنا. Whatever your rea­son for con­sid­er­ing Canada – that neigh­bor who’s famil­iar yet just a bit dif­fer­ent – wel­come. أود أن أعرض لكم لبيتي الكندية الجديدة.

-- مقتطف من كتاب, الذين يعيشون في الخارج في كندا. لقراءة المزيد, شراء الكتاب.

الصورة ألبرت © ألان

Home » My Canada Story

My Canada Story

Photo ©Alan Albert

You seem famil­iar, yet some­how strange – are you by any chance Canadian?

This New Yorker car­toon cap­tion sums up the rela­tion­ship many Americans have with Canada. We know Canada like we might casu­ally know any next-​​door neigh­bor. We’re cor­dial, say “hello,” and go about our own business.

Sure, most Americans know some­thing about our north­ern neigh­bor. We’ve scanned head­lines about uni­ver­sal health care, same-​​sex mar­riage, and hockey mania. We’ve seen pho­tos of majes­tic moun­tains, quiet coves, tow­er­ing ever­greens, and vast stretches of arc­tic wilder­ness. We may have read sur­veys call­ing Vancouver the best city in the world to live, com­par­ing chic Montreal to Paris, and rank­ing Toronto among the planet’s most mul­ti­cul­tural metrop­o­lises. We’re famil­iar with Canada, but we may not really know our Canadian neigh­bors – until some­thing hap­pens that makes us take notice.

For my fam­ily, it was a job offer.

And after our unan­tic­i­pated move over the bor­der, as my fam­ily and I began fig­ur­ing out how to man­age the tran­si­tion to our new Canadian home, we quickly dis­cov­ered that cross­ing the bor­der on vaca­tion–some­thing we’d done many times–wasn’t the same as liv­ing and work­ing in a dif­fer­ent coun­try.

Because Canada is a dif­fer­ent coun­try. Of course, that sounds silly; we knew we were mov­ing to a new nation with its own gov­ern­ment, money, and laws. Yet because Canada felt so com­fort­able – so sim­i­lar to the United States – we were sur­prised at how many things we needed to sort out.

The per­mits we needed to begin work­ing. The doc­u­ments we needed to move our car. How to arrange for health insur­ance and file our tax returns. Unlike many immi­grants head­ing abroad, we didn’t need to learn a new lan­guage or adapt to exotic cus­toms. We were going to the coun­try right next door. Yet there were still plenty of challenges.

After we sorted out the paper­work, though, we began to adjust to our adopted coun­try. We soon learned to embrace Canada’s mul­ti­cul­tural esthetic, sam­pling new foods, join­ing in local fes­ti­vals, and get­ting acquainted with expats from across the globe. We came to appre­ci­ate the active, outdoor-​​oriented cul­ture, where peo­ple make time to go ski­ing, ride their bikes, or walk along the water­front. And we began to slow our hurry-​​up atti­tudes to a more laid-​​back Canadian speed.

Over time, we’ve also dis­cov­ered many other dif­fer­ences between Canadian and American cul­ture. We’ve become acquainted with Timbits. Learned what toques are and why the kids needed them for soc­cer. Figured out why there’s a hol­i­day on the Queen of England’s birth­day.

If you’re explor­ing this web­site, you may be think­ing about mov­ing to Canada or you may already be here. Whatever your rea­son for con­sid­er­ing Canada – that neigh­bor who’s famil­iar yet just a bit dif­fer­ent – wel­come. I’d like to intro­duce you to my new Canadian home.

– Excerpted from the book, Living Abroad in Canada. To read more, buy the book.

Photo ©Alan Albert