首页 » 我的加拿大的故事

我的加拿大的故事

Photo ©Alan Albert

你似乎famil-IAR, 但不知何故奇怪 - 你任何机会 加拿大?

纽约客 汽车,香椿 标题总结了许多美国人与加拿大的关系. 我们知道,加拿大,像我们可能会随随便便知道任何隔壁邻居. 我们对应拨号, 说“你好,“和干我们自己的业务.

肯定, 大多数美国人都知道我们的北方邻国的东西. 我们扫描头线 UNI-VER-SAL保健, 同性MAR-riage, 和 曲棍球躁狂症. 我们已经看到了抽动majes,山地包含PHO-TOS, 宁静的海湾, TOW-ER-ING不断果岭, 弧TIC怀尔德性的广袤. 我们可能已经读过河畔veys呼叫 温哥华 世界上最好的城市生活, COM-PAR-ING别致 蒙特利尔 巴黎, 和 秩-ING 多伦多 在这个星球上最多元文化的大都市. 我们 famil-IAR 与加拿大, 但我们可能不会真正了解加拿大的邻国 - 直到事情发生,使我们采取通知.

对于我的FAM-ILY, 这是一个 工作机会.

之后我们意料之外的举动越过边境, 因为我的家人和我开始思考如何管理过渡到我们的新加拿大的家, 我们很快DIS-COV-ERED等效 跨巴卡-BOR-DER - 一些东西,我们就做过很多次不一样的生活和工作在不同的国家.

由于 加拿大是一个不同的国家. 当然, 这听起来很愚蠢; 我们知道我们移动到一个新的国家有自己的政府, 钱, 和法律. 然而,由于加拿大感觉很舒服 - 如此的相似,美国 - 我们感到惊讶,我们有多少事情需要理清.

每MITS 我们需要开始工作ING. 该 DOC-U-ments 我们需要把我们的车. 如何 安排健康险“-ANCE我们的纳税申报文件. 不像许多移民补助金头ING海外, 我们并不需要学习一门新的语言或适应异国的风情. 我们要国家尝试隔壁. 然而,仍然有很多挑战.

之后,我们整理出的纸张工作, 虽然, 我们开始调整我们通过coun尝试. 我们很快就学会了拥抱 加拿大的MUL-TI文化taly审美, SAM-采样新的食物, 加入在当地FES-TI-丘壑, 了解与来自世界各地的外国人. 我们来到appre-CI-吃 活跃, 面向室外CUL-TURE, 在那里人们腾出时间去滑雪, 骑自行车, 或走水前. 我们开始放慢我们的hurry-了态度更 悠闲的加拿大速度.

随着时间的推移, 我们还发现了其他许多加拿大和美国文化之间的差异. 我们已经变得熟悉 Timbits. 学会了什么 铃声 以及为什么孩子需要SOC-CER. 想通了,为什么有一 HOL-I-日 女王 英格兰 出生天.

如果你是勘探,本网站中, 你可能会想移居加拿大,你可能已经在这里. Whatever your rea­son for con­sid­er­ing Canada – that neigh­bor who’s famil­iar yet just a bit dif­fer­ent – wel­come. 我想向你介绍我的新的加拿大家园.

- 摘自本书, 留学加拿大生活. 要阅读更多, 购买图书.

图片©艾伦伟业

Home » My Canada Story

My Canada Story

Photo ©Alan Albert

You seem famil­iar, yet some­how strange – are you by any chance Canadian?

This New Yorker car­toon cap­tion sums up the rela­tion­ship many Americans have with Canada. We know Canada like we might casu­ally know any next-​​door neigh­bor. We’re cor­dial, say “hello,” and go about our own business.

Sure, most Americans know some­thing about our north­ern neigh­bor. We’ve scanned head­lines about uni­ver­sal health care, same-​​sex mar­riage, and hockey mania. We’ve seen pho­tos of majes­tic moun­tains, quiet coves, tow­er­ing ever­greens, and vast stretches of arc­tic wilder­ness. We may have read sur­veys call­ing Vancouver the best city in the world to live, com­par­ing chic Montreal to Paris, and rank­ing Toronto among the planet’s most mul­ti­cul­tural metrop­o­lises. We’re famil­iar with Canada, but we may not really know our Canadian neigh­bors – until some­thing hap­pens that makes us take notice.

For my fam­ily, it was a job offer.

And after our unan­tic­i­pated move over the bor­der, as my fam­ily and I began fig­ur­ing out how to man­age the tran­si­tion to our new Canadian home, we quickly dis­cov­ered that cross­ing the bor­der on vaca­tion–some­thing we’d done many times–wasn’t the same as liv­ing and work­ing in a dif­fer­ent coun­try.

Because Canada is a dif­fer­ent coun­try. Of course, that sounds silly; we knew we were mov­ing to a new nation with its own gov­ern­ment, money, and laws. Yet because Canada felt so com­fort­able – so sim­i­lar to the United States – we were sur­prised at how many things we needed to sort out.

The per­mits we needed to begin work­ing. The doc­u­ments we needed to move our car. How to arrange for health insur­ance and file our tax returns. Unlike many immi­grants head­ing abroad, we didn’t need to learn a new lan­guage or adapt to exotic cus­toms. We were going to the coun­try right next door. Yet there were still plenty of challenges.

After we sorted out the paper­work, though, we began to adjust to our adopted coun­try. We soon learned to embrace Canada’s mul­ti­cul­tural esthetic, sam­pling new foods, join­ing in local fes­ti­vals, and get­ting acquainted with expats from across the globe. We came to appre­ci­ate the active, outdoor-​​oriented cul­ture, where peo­ple make time to go ski­ing, ride their bikes, or walk along the water­front. And we began to slow our hurry-​​up atti­tudes to a more laid-​​back Canadian speed.

Over time, we’ve also dis­cov­ered many other dif­fer­ences between Canadian and American cul­ture. We’ve become acquainted with Timbits. Learned what toques are and why the kids needed them for soc­cer. Figured out why there’s a hol­i­day on the Queen of England’s birth­day.

If you’re explor­ing this web­site, you may be think­ing about mov­ing to Canada or you may already be here. Whatever your rea­son for con­sid­er­ing Canada – that neigh­bor who’s famil­iar yet just a bit dif­fer­ent – wel­come. I’d like to intro­duce you to my new Canadian home.

– Excerpted from the book, Living Abroad in Canada. To read more, buy the book.

Photo ©Alan Albert